Creamy Chicken and Cornbread Casserole

My husband is a huge fan of comfort foods. Burgers, pot pie, meatloaf, chili, etc.

I, on the other hand, would have pasta, sandwiches, bagels, or stir-fry every night if I could.

Since sometimes marriage is about compromise, I decided to make this for him to spare him another stir fry and make something that I knew he would really enjoy – even though he would probably enjoy it more than I would.

Another reason why  I wanted to make this casserole, is that it comes from one of my favorite foodie blogs, Can You Stay For Dinner.  There is so much deliciousness on this blog – and fantastic photography as well!   You can find this recipe here.

Creamy Chicken and Cornbread Casserole

This was not that difficult to make.  Aside from the corn,  I did use all fresh veggies – but you could easily take it down a notch an use frozen.  It turns out similar to pot pie, but a little bit lighter with the cornbread topping.

Creamy Chicken Cornbread Casserole

Although I am not a huge fan of cornbread, I thought it was cool how you cook it right on top of the casserole!  It cooked perfectly too!   Overall it was a good meal, and definitely filling.

Ease: B+, but it could be easier if you just use frozen veggies.
Taste: A-, I didn’t love it, but it was a good meal.  If you are a pot pie loving type person you would definitely like this.

Would I make it again? I’m not sure.  It was fun to make, but it wasn’t my favorite.

3 thoughts on “Creamy Chicken and Cornbread Casserole

Leave a Reply

