Maple Oatmeal Blueberry Breakfast Squares

Breakfast bars have always been a staple of my diet.  Not even necessarily for breakfast, but as a healthy snack or treat.  In the past, I’ve made Mama Pea’s Better Berry Nutrigrain Bars and No Bake S’Mores Bars.  Both of which were good, but these are different.  Those were both similar tasting to their pre-packaged counterparts (which is not at all a bad thing) while these definitely taste home made and original.  To me, these seem more like something you would find at a brunch rather than something that you would take as a snack to work.

The recipe for these breakfast squares is a vegan (as were the other two that I mentioned above) however I subbed cows milk for the non-dairy milk that they used since it was what I had in the house, so the version that I made are not 100% vegan.  You can find the original recipe here.

The only other change I made was that I used fresh blueberries instead of frozen and I didn’t have quite enough, so it wasn’t quite as berry filled as the original.  The berries didn’t “melt”as much when I heated them as I expected, but they seemed to turn out ok once they were baked.

Maple Oatmeal Blueberry Bars

These were pretty good.  They actually turned out a lot sweeter than I imagined.  Thats not to say that they were super sweet, but usually when I don’t use cane or brown sugar in a baked item I notice that they are pretty much not sweet at all – but that is not the case with these.  Aside from the natural sweetness of the blueberries, the only sweetener used is maple syrup – but they definitely added just enough sweetness to these to make them taste like a treat.  I also enjoyed that the quick-cook oats didn’t have quite as oaty of a texture as regular raw oats usually do. (if “oaty” makes any sense at all)

Ease: A-, these are not too hard, but they do involve a few different steps.
Taste: B+, I didn’t love them, but they were actually better than I thought they would be.  They were sweeter and softer than I imagined they would be.

Would I make them again? Yeah I think so. Maybe even try them with different fruit?  Drizzle some frosting on them to make them a sweeter treat…..

How do you feel about oats in baked goods?
I generally prefer flour based desserts to oat based desserts, but I’ve found that quick-cook oats don’t have quite as grainy of a texture, so I enjoy them more.

One thought on “Maple Oatmeal Blueberry Breakfast Squares

Leave a Reply

