Summer Berry Bread

After making those fruit pizza’s, I had some leftover berries.  I searched the internet for some kind of bread or muffin to use them and I came across this Summer Berry Bread that Gabriela posted on Une Vie Saine.  You can find the recipe here.

The recipe that Gabriela came up with is for two loaves, but I didn’t have a whole lot of berries left, so I opted to cut it in half to make just one loaf.  For my berries I used strawberries and blueberries, and I also left out the walnuts.

Summer Berry Bread

It was not at all hard to make, just like any other berry bread.

My loaf came out kind of dry, and I don’t know if that was just because I overcooked it, or if the recipe just tends to be drier than others that I’ve made.  Or maybe I halved things wrong….but the batter seemed like the right consistency…..hmmm….Other than the dryness though, the flavor was not bad.  It did have a kind of honey taste to it – since honey is used as a sweetener – and where the berries were, especially the strawberries, the flavor and texture was quite yummy.

Ease: A, very easy, just mix it all together!
Taste: B, mine turned out too dry, but around where the berries were, it was pretty good!

Would I make it again? I’m not sure.  I might, just to see if it was baker error or the recipe that made it dry.

2 thoughts on “Summer Berry Bread

  1. You could always try adding some sour cream next time you make it. That usually helps my banana bread stay more moist. 🙂

    It looks really good, btw. Might have to may it myself!!

    • You are so smart Erika! Adding sour cream or Greek yogurt would definitely make it more moist, I’ll have to try that.

Leave a Reply

