Restaurant Review: Rex’s Inkeeper

Full Disclosure:  I paid for this meal with my own money and I was in no way reimbursed for this blog post.  The opinions are completely my own.

Sometimes I don’t get to choose where I go out to eat.

Let me rephrase that.

Sometimes, I choose not to argue with whoever is making dinner decisions and choose to just be grateful that they are taking me out to dinner.

This was one of those times.

Last weekend my brother and his girlfriend were in town from Chicago and we were going to celebrate Father’s Day (a week late, I know) since neither of us were in town the weekend before.  We had a couple of possible restaurants in mind that we might try, but Grandma decided to ring in with a suggestion of her own.  Rex’s Inkeeper in Waunakee.  Even though I wasn’t thrilled about this choice, I decided to just go with it and count this as a challenge for me to try new things.

So, if you are familiar with Waunakee, you are probably familiar with at least the outside of this straight-out-of-the-70’s supper club.  The decor on the inside definitely matches this vibe as well.  I tried very hard to not judge the food quality on the decor and my preconceived thoughts.  I really did.

The dinner menu was filled with your typical supper club fare – steak, fish, chicken, and pork.  Clearly this restaurant was not meant for anyone of the vegetarian or vegan persuasion.

For my meal I chose the Jumbo Sea Scallops Broiled in Lightly Seasoned Lemon Butter.  It also came with a trip to the salad bar, and a choice of potato (I chose baked).

The meal came with bread to start out.  I didn’t have any (for some reason that I don’t know) but I heard that it was soft and yummy.

Rex's Inkeeper Bread

After I ordered, I headed to the salad bar to make my salad.  I was not super thrilled with the salad bar choices.  Although I am not one to get a gazillion different things on my salad, the choices just seemed really weak.

Rexs Inkeeper Salad

My salad included generic looking iceberg lettuce, mushrooms, cheese, baby carrots, and ranch dressing.  Yes, this is usually about what my salad look like anywhere, however usually there are at least a few different, interesting things to add, I just didn’t see anything out of the ordinary here.

Then my meal came.  My first reaction: umm, these are in no way “jumbo” scallops.  But whatever, maybe I was wrong.  So, I ate them, and the potato.  But really they were nothing special.  Honestly, they tasted like something I would make at home.  Good enough to eat, but not as delicious as something that I would expect to find at a restaurant.

Rex's Inkeeper Scallops

Rex's Inkeeper Potato

Overall the meal was fine – just not anything that I feel like I couldn’t make as well myself and it would taste just as good.  I understand that for people who like this style of restaurant, it is comfort food.

Taste: B-, not horrible, but really not something that I thought was nice restaurant quality.
Cost: C, my scallops cost $16.99.  They were definitely not the quality that I would expect for that price.

Would I go there again? With Grandma and Grandpa? Yes, because why wouldn’t I go out to eat with them. On my own?  Not so much.

Rex's Innkeeper on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

