Restaurant Review: BoHo

Full Disclosure:  I paid for this meal with my own money and I was in no way reimbursed for this blog post.  The opinions are completely my own.

Aah, our last day in California.  We definitely spent our last day like tourists.  We headed down to Hollywood to visit Mann’s Chinese Theater, see the Hollywood Walk of Fame, and do all kinds of other things.  It may or may not have included a celebrity home tour….not that I am embarrassed about this, but other people involved might be…….

Side Note: it really should be called the Celebrity gate and roof tour, because honestly, you don’t really see too much house. Still fun though 🙂

By dinner we were pretty exhausted and knew that we should head back to the hotel at a reasonable hour to pack for our early flight in the morning, so we found a restaurant that sounded good and was close.  We headed to BoHo at Hollywood and Highland.

Our meal started with bread.  It wasn’t your usual bread and butter though, it was definitely unique.  I’m not sure exactly what it had on it but it was some type of cheese combination with a little bit of tomato.  It was unexpected, but pretty good.  I also liked that we each only got one piece rather than bringing us a whole basket.  I do love bread, but sometimes it is hard for me to resist delicious bread and then I am not able to eat as much of my delicious dinner!

Boho Bread

Since it was our last night in California, we decided to go all out and order an appetizer with our meal.  We both kind of knew that it would be too much food, but we really wanted to try it so we went for it.  To start, we ordered the Margherita Pizza – tomato, basil, fresh mozzarella, olive oil, grated reggiano.  It was good!  I kind of wished that I had gotten it as my meal actually.

Boho Margherita Pizza

For my entree, I had the Meat and Potatoes – grilled 14 oz NY steak, potato gratin, red wine demi glace.  Except instead of the potato gratin I had sweet potato fries.  The steak was not the cut that I usually order so I was kind of annoyed with the amount of fat that was on it – but that is how it is supposed to be, so really I’m just lazy with cutting and/or don’t just eat the fat like many people do.  The red wine demi glace on the steak was a lot sweeter than I expected it to be.  It was good, but it was on the edge of being too sweet.  The sweet potato fries were delicious as expected.

Boho Steak

The husband had the Half Rack of Baby Back Pork Ribs with belgian fries and house made BBQ sauce.  He really liked the ribs.  He said they were very tender and the BBQ sauce was good as well.  The fries were interesting.  They were definitely something different, but I’m not sure that I liked them.  They were kind of in between crispy and soft fries.

Boho Ribs

After that we were definitely stuffed.  Good food for our last night in California. We were sad to go, but we were honestly both so exhausted for running around and doing things for the past two weeks that we were ready to get home and relax.  It was definitely one of those moments where you need a vacation from your vacation.

Taste: A, even though I didn’t love my steak, everything else was very good.
Cost: B+, my steak was a bit expensive, but everything else seemed pretty reasonable, the pizza that we had for an appetizer – and would definitely feed one person as a meal – was $12.

Would I go there again? I’m not sure.  It was a fun place, and really good food considering the highly touristy area, but I’m not sure there was much more on the menu that I would want to try.

BoHo on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

