Restaurant Review: The Warehouse

Full Disclosure:  I paid for this meal with my own money and I was in no way reimbursed for this blog post.  The opinions are completely my own.

For some reason I struggled to find somewhere to eat seafood here in California.  I figured that since we are right next to the ocean, seafood would be abundant and in all varieties.  Well, this is true – if you are more adventurous than I am!  I prefer my seafood to be classic scallops, or crab, or lobster – not some kind of mexican or asian variation.  But, of course, you always find the thing you are looking for where it is not expected.  One night we were looking for somewhere to eat, really anywhere, we were just hungry, and we found just the kind of seafood restaurant that we were looking for.

The Warehouse

The Warehouse is a polynesian themed restaurant located on the marina very close to our hotel.  The restaurant looks over the marina, and there is even seating outside right next to the marina.

The Warehouse Marina

The meal starts out with bread and butter.

The Warehouse Bread

The menu there is full of all different kinds of seafood, fish, and steak.  This is definitely a restaurant for meat eaters.

For dinner, I ordered the Atlantic Salmon baked with crab stuffing and covered with a lobster-chardonnay sauce.  I also had a loaded baked potato on the side.

The Warehouse Salmon

The salmon wasn’t outstanding, but it was good.  The baked potato was HUGE.  The menu doesn’t lie when it says that it serves two.

The husband had the Hawaiian Mahi Mahi – Baked with a coconut-macadamia crust and served with a peanut sauce.  He had a baked sweet potato with his meal.  The sweet potato was BIGGER than my giant potato.

The Warehouse Mahi Mahi

Yeah, that is definitely a two person potato.

Overall the food was good but not outstanding, and the service wasn’t great.  However, the restaurant was quiet and cozy with great views of the marina.  I should also mention that unless you walk there, or I suppose bike, you have to valet your car.  Honestly though, the parking in Los Angeles can be a hassle, so sometimes it is worth the $5 that it costs to have someone park your car for you.

Taste: B+, it was good, but I’ve definitely had better salmon here.
Cost: B-, the price was a little expensive and I don’t think the quality of the food really made up for it.  It was a nicer restaurant, so we didn’t expect it to be cheap, the quality just didn’t really live up to the cost.

Would I go there again? I’m not sure.  The food wasn’t great, but the view was good.  I think it would be a good place to go for drinks.

Warehouse on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

