Restaurant Review: Greenbush Bakery

Full Disclosure:  I paid for this meal with my own money and I was in no way reimbursed for this blog post.  The opinions are completely my own.

Okay, okay.  So its not actually a restaurant.  But its close enough right?  And come on, who doesn’t want to hear about a bakery?

Greenbush Sign

If you are – or have been – a college student in Madison, there is no doubt that you have been to Greenbush Bakery.  (The link is to their Google business page since I couldn’t find an actual website.)  Greenbush is the place to go when you are looking for a snack late at night.  Before the cupcake craze, there were Greenbush doughnuts.

Greenbush Fritter

Greenbush sells a large variety of doughnuts.  From crullers to classic glazed doughnuts, to apple fritters, they definitely have something for everyone.  This particular time, I got an apple fritter.  I have eaten other doughnuts from here as well, and they are equally as delicious.  The one thing about the apple fritters sold there is that they are HUGE . I did not eat this all by myself, I’d say it safely feeds at least 2 people.  So you can see just how big it is, I took a photo of it compared to my iPhone.

Greenbush Fritter

Yeah.  Its big.

I really enjoy the different textures, with the sugar glazed outside and the soft doughy inside.  Mmmmmm….

Taste: A-, ok, I do love the taste, but it is SO sugary.  I’m not sure if my sugar tolerance has gone down since college, but I could not eat a ton of this.
Cost: B+, I think this was around $4.  It is giant, but if you are just one person – or you don’t love super sweet things, you can definitely find a cheaper dessert option.  However, this definitely is a unique item, I don’t think I’ve had any other fritter quite like it.

Would I go there again?  Yes.  However, eating it now, I can’t believe that I went there so often in college without my teeth rotting out!

Greenbush Bakery on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Greenbush Bakery

  1. i LOVE greenbush! 🙂 i used to live about 2 blocks away from the bakery my first year of grad school. so dangerous! but so so delicious.

Leave a Reply

