Friday Favorites

It’s Friday!

It’s Friday!

On this lovely Friday, I’d like to share with you some things I’ve been loving recently.

So here we go.

In no particular order.

1) Thoughts On Being Proactively Kind – a post that Caitlin wrote last week.  I 100% agree and can relate to the things that she talks about in this post.  I am a manager and buyer of a small locally owned toy store and often have to deal with negative comments and concerns.  Sometimes these comments are for a good reason, other times they just seem to be spiteful and rude.  I encourage you to read this post and think about how you approach matters when dealing with customer service representatives of all kinds.  Constructive criticism is good, being mean and not considering the feelings of others is bad.

2) Yogi Tea.  If you follow me on Twitter or Tumblr, you may know what I am talking about.  I LOVE that the tags on the Yogi tea bags have sayings on them.

Yogi Tea Quote

When I first found Yogi Tea, the store that I bought it only had about 4 different flavors.  Then one day I found it at Whole Foods.  They have LOTS of different flavors.  I only wish that it was caffeinated  – but for now I just mix it with caffeinated tea to get my caffeine fix. IS that weird?  Do other people mix different flavors of tea?

3) The Instagram iPhone App.  Ok, ok.  I know I’m a little behind on this one.  You see, when people first started using it, I actually thought a lot of the time the images looked annoying.  BUT.  Then I got around to downloading it, and now I’m hooked! I love the different photographic effects!  I don’t use it for every photo that I take with my phone, but I do love it when I want an edgier or artsier look.

Dandelion

4) Pandora.  (Again, behind on the times, I know.)  Because the random mix of music is awesome.

I love that this

Pandora 1turns into this

Pandora 2

then this

Pandora 3

and maybe even this

Pandora 4

Yes, I have an eclectic taste in music. I love it.

5) This post from Jenna of That Wife about her C25K experience and this post from Jen Is Green about jumping on the 5K bandwagon.  Reading them both yesterday  – along with some advice from my twitter friend Laura – helped me SO much in deciding if I should start with the C25K program.  The verdict?  I’m doing it.  I ran the first run of the program yesterday and honestly, it went better than expected.  We’ll see how my legs feel today.

So, since so many of you are a billion times more experienced runners than I am – or at least you’ve ran more than my one time in the past 10 or so years….

What advice to you have for a beginning runner??
Tips, tricks, blogs, gear, anything I should know, throw it at me, I want to know!  

Have a GREAT Weekend, Friends!!!

4 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. Stick with the c25k and repeat weeks if you don’t feel ready to advance. I did 17mos ago and am running 25miles per week now. I read somewhere that it takes about a year and a half to get totally addicted to running, and I am there! Good luck!
    Gina (mcdgg on twitter)

  2. Stick with it.
    Don’t try to go to fast.
    Your body can do it, even if your mind says it can’t. Try to distract your mind by counting (you could count your steps, your breaths, or just count a steady count), reciting a mantra, listening (getting lost in) music.
    Get a good pair of running shoes.
    Walk before and after each run and stretch after you run.
    Run every other day if you are just starting out.
    If you don’t push, you won’t improve. (but remember to listen to your body!)

    Those are just a few things I learned when I picked up running a year ago. I’m addicted now (even though my mind isn’t totally caught on yet that this running thing is permanent). Good luck! And keep it up!

Leave a Reply

