Cinnamon Chip Scones

I never used to be a fan of scones.

I guess most of the scones I’ve had were very blah tasting.  No flavor, and very dry.  I understand that scones aren’t supposed to like super moist cake, but I just did not enjoy them.

Recently I tried scones again.  One day, I was at Starbucks and decided to buy myself a treat to go with my coffee.  I was looking for something that wasn’t super sweet – but also something that I could tell myself was a dessert.  I chose a cinnamon chip scone.

Much to my surprise, I loved it.  It was just sweet enough, not super moist, but not crumbly.  It was delicious. So delicious that I might have gotten it for a few times after that. Luckily, the Starbucks that is closest to where I work and live is usually out of them by the time  I make it there – this is probably the only way that I broke my habit.

 A few weeks went by and I started craving cinnamon chip scones again.  When I found this recipe on Sweet  Tooth Sweet Life, I practically jumped for joy.  Why had I not thought of making these scones myself? Her recipe seemed so easy that there wasn’t any way I could resist trying it.  You can find the recipe here.

Cinnamon Chip Scone

Good news.  They were easy AND delicious.

The only thing I wish is that I had a pastry blender.  Using two forks – especially when your forks are cheap from Ikea and bend when you try to cut in butter – don’t really do the job well.  Luckily, my husband has more arm power than I do so he helped out. 🙂

Speaking of the Husband, he also added an extra touch to his scone.  In the form of extra sugar topping.  Lots of sugar. In case you are wondering what I sugar crusted scone looks like, here you go:

Cinnamon Sugar Scone

Now my only problem is stopping myself from eating them all in one sitting.  Luckily I made them quite large, so one is usually good enough to savor in bites for a few hours.

Ease: B+, only because you do have to cut in the butter and then knead them a bit, otherwise they are not really difficult at all.
Taste: A+, so. freaking. good.

Would I make them again? Definitely.  However, I should probably only make a half batch at a time so that they don’t have disastrous effects on my health.

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Chip Scones

Leave a Reply

