Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Mini Quiches

I promise you I will get through all of these Thinkfood recipes some day!

This one comes from fellow Madisonian Holly, The Healthy Everythingtarian.  If you haven’t already, you should really check out Holly’s blog, she keeps it real about balancing food, fun and travel.

This recipe happens to be from back in December (I told you, I’m behind!) and you can find it here.

The only snag that I hit while making the recipe was that there was no baking temperature!  I asked Holly and it seems as though the Thinkfood people must of accidentally left it out.  Luckily, she said to bake at 350 degrees – which is what I had already started baking them at. 🙂

They definitely were not hard to prepare, but they did involve a few different steps.

Mini Quiche

I wasn’t sure how  I would feel about the puff pastry, but I actually think I liked it! It wasn’t as greasy and fried tasting as I had imagined.  I guess when I think of puff pastry I think of apple turnovers….not that those are deep fried…….but they are delicious……anyways.

The pastry element definitely added a “brunch”ness to it.  I’m not entirely sure why, but it made it seem more like a nicer meal rather than just  some scrambled eggs.

Mini Quiches

Really the only part that I didn’t love about these was the tomatoes.  They didn’t really take anything away from it either though.  However – as  I bet  you could imagine –  I am a pro at picking my way around things that I don’t want to eat 🙂

Ease: B+, not anything super difficult, just a few different steps that make it a bit complicated.
Taste: B, not quite perfect, but not really anything in particular wrong with them either.

Would I make them again? Yeah, I think so.  I’d like to experiment with adding other combinations of things to the basic egg and pastry base.  Any suggestions??

3 thoughts on “Sundried Tomato and Goat Cheese Mini Quiches

Leave a Reply

