Restaurant Review: Tolache

Full Disclosure:  I paid for this meal with my own money and I was in no way reimbursed for this blog post.  The opinions are completely my own.  Ok, actually we were taken out to dinner by some sales reps, but still, someone paid for the meal, and as always, I would never let that effect what I write about a restaurant.

One of my favorite part of traveling to trade shows for work is when sales reps take you out to dinner.  So, in all honestly, I did not pay for this meal – but our sales rep did – and the fact that I was treated to a free meal will not change my opinion about the food.

Rose Glass

Side Note: We happened to go on Valentines Day, so there were lots of adorable couples and fun decorations up.

In fact, on of the things about being taken out to eat by a sales rep is that you don’t get to choose where you are going.  I’m not going to be picky or complain about their choice of restaurant when I’m not paying for my meal.  This often means I end up going somewhere that I normally wouldn’t go.  I’m pretty sure this is actually a blessing in disguise.

Mexican is definitely not my favorite kind of food.

The other disadvantage of going to a restaurant as a large group being taken out to dinner with a sales rep is that you often have a much smaller menu to choose from.  This was the case when we went to Tolache.  Luckily, even with a minimal menu, I found some things that I thought I would like.

Dinner started out with chips and salsa like a typical Mexican restaurant.  I also had some red sangria.

Chips

Sangria

For my appetizer, I chose the chicken quesadilla, which I was very happy with.  The cheese, tortilla and everything was very fresh and delicious tasting.  And no, I did not eat the pepper sitting on top of it.  Or the tomatoes.  But the rest? Delicious.

Quesadilla

For my entree, I had the chicken enchiladas.  This is where I get scared that they will be too spicy.  Or too full of “things” that I’m not going to want to eat.  Luckily – or maybe unluckily for people who like “things” – it was not full of anything weird, and it was very mild.  It did have an interesting twist that it was topped with micro-greens and slightly baked apples!

Enchilada

I think its the best enchilada I’ve ever had.  Seriously.  Usually I can find something wrong with Mexican food, but I really loved this.

Oh, and for dessert, we got to share, Vanilla Flan, Mexican Chocolate Cake and Dulce de Leche Ice Cream.

Cake

Flan

It was sooooooo good!  And that is made clear by this tweet:

Screen Shot

I also had some white sangria after my red. It was delicious as well.

Overall the meal was great.  The restaurant was small, and pretty crowded – but that could have been because it was packed because of Valentines Day.  But even though it was crowded, the service was great as well.

Taste: A+, I was really surprised, but it was really good. From the sangria to the enchilada to the dulce de leche ice cream.
Cost: ? Since I wasn’t actually paying for the meal, I honestly don’t know how much it was. However, from looking at it online it did seem like a higher end restaurant.  I’m guessing if I was paying for my meal, it would be a “special occasions only” kind of place.

Would I go there again? Definitely.  My husband loves Mexican food (as does the co-worker I was traveling with) so I would imagine they would be all about going to a Mexican restaurant that I was actually excited about!

 

Toloache on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Restaurant Review: Tolache

  1. oh my goodnessss. I love Mexican food and this looks so good! Especially the dessert! haha.
    and I’ve actually never had sangria. I think this should be remedied soon.

Leave a Reply

