No Bake S'Mores Bars

After all of my experiments with Granola, I had some leftover oats that needed to be used.  To do that, I decided to make these Granola Bars posted on Peas and Thank You. (one of my favorite blogs.) You can find the recipe here.

I didn’t have Brown Rice Syrup on hand, so I decided that I would just use honey instead. I’m pretty sure I consulted some kind of source before doing this, but now I’m not so sure.

You see, even though this photo looks like a beautiful s’mores granola bar, it didn’t stay together.

No Bak Smores Granola Bar

Well, it stayed together enough to take this photo, but once  I took a bite, it all just kind of fell apart.  Obviously substituting honey was not the right choice.

That being said, just because it fell apart does not in any way mean that it didn’t taste good.  It tasted delicious.  It just turned into slightly sticky S’mores granola.

Next time I will definitely use Brown Rice Syrup instead – now that I actually have some.  If you are looking for Brown Rice Syrup and can’t find any, you probably need to go to Whole Foods, or your local co-op. (Thanks to my Twitter friends for suggesting those options for me!)

The moral of the story: Trust that Mama Pea’s recipes are good as they are, and don’t try to change them without consulting her 😉

Ease: A+, these were really easy to make.  All it took was mixing the ingredients together and putting it in the refrigerator for a while.
Taste: B, obviously if they were actual granola bars, they would be better, but they were definitely not bad.  Just a little sticky.

Would I make them again? Yes, I would definitely like to try them again, with the proper ingredients this time 😉

 

Leave a Reply

