Restaurant Review: Grand Floridian Cafe

Full Disclosure:  I paid for this meal with my own money and I was in no way reimbursed for this blog post.  The opinions are completely my own.

In order to get to the Grand Floridian Resort from our hotel, it took a little planning.  We took the bus over to the Magic Kingdom, then the monorail to the hotel.  This does take a bit of time, but we were on a pretty relaxed schedule so it was no big deal.  We actually ended up being pretty early, so we stopped at a couple of the other resorts that the monorail stops at on the way.  I definitely encourage doing this if you have the time, it is fun to see the other hotels – Disney does a great job of designing different themes through every detail.

Our reservations at the Grand Floridian Cafe were for 6:30pm.  We arrived at the hotel at around 5:45.  I try not to check in for dinner more than 15 minutes ahead of time, because I assume we would just be waiting around there until closer to our reservation time anyways.   Apparently that isn’t always the case. We checked in and got a table right away!  Although, it wasn’t too crowded at the time so maybe we just got lucky.

We started out with some drinks.  I had a glass of wine, and the Husband had a key lime martini.  The wine was delicious, and the Husband said that the martini was good as well.

Drinks

As every delicious dinner should, the meal came with complementary fresh bread and butter.  I’m not sure that there is a bread that I don’t like. Warm soft middle, crispy crusty outside – delicious.

Bread

For dinner I had steak, mashed potatoes and veggies.  I’m pretty picky about my steak, and this was very good.

Steak

The husband had a burger with shrimp and asparagus.  I’m not a burger lover, but he said it was delicious – and very filling.  He also had parmesan french fries on the side.  (you can see them on the left side of the photo, I’m pretty sure they were all eaten before we could get a good photo.)  They were really good.  Definitely a fancy version of classic french fries – but they tasted very fresh and hand made.

Burger

After dinner, we were honestly very full.  However, on our way into the restaurant we noticed a few tables that had dessert platters that had four mini desserts on them.  We had out hearts set on getting it.  Even though we were full, we were on vacation, why not indulge?

I don’t remember exactly what the four different desserts were, but one was raspberry cheesecake (bottom left), one was some kind of mocha tiramisu (bottom right), one I think was some version of creme brulee (top left), and the other was a chocolate mousse (top right).  They were all good, but nothing too spectacular.

Dessert

Overall the meal was very good.  The dessert probably wasn’t needed – and definitely was not as good as the rest of the meal.

Taste: A-, the meal was very good but the dessert was a bit lackluster.  Although, you will be quite full at the end of the meal that dessert won’t be needed.
Cost: B+, I feel like I keep repeating myself with every Disney restaurant, but, it wasn’t cheap.  However, in this case (aside from the dessert) I really feel like the cost was pretty much worth it.  Also, the waiter and the rest of the service was great, so that made me feel like the money wasn’t being wasted on a cheap feeling meal.

Would I go there again? Yeah, I think so,  There were actually several items on the menu that I wanted to try.  The service was great, and it wasn’t too crowded.  It is a great, and I think lesser known, place to go for a nice dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

