Baked Mozzarella Balls

Some might call this cooking experiment a fail.

You see, I set out to make these delicious looking mozzarella balls from How Sweet It Is. (you can find the recipe here.)

They sounded pretty epic.

I prepped them as instructed and put them in the oven.

The husband was skeptical.  “How are these not just going to ooze all over the pan” he said.

But ,  I had confidence in Jess’s recipe, and assured him they would be fine.

Then they turned out like this:

Mozzarella Balls

The cheese did ooze out of them, leaving crispy shells.

He was right.

Even though they don’t look perfect, I’m not calling this recipe a fail.

Why?

Because we ate them all anyways.

They were maybe just slightly less delicious because we had to peel the melted cheese off of the pan.

But they will still delicious.

I asked Jess what I might have done wrong.  She told me that it was possible my oven was not hot enough – since different ovens vary slightly in temperature.  My oven is known to take longer to warm up than it claims, so I think she was right.

Next time, I will heat up my oven well ahead of time and see if I have better luck.

Ease: A-, they do take a bit of prep and pre-planning but nothing too horrible.
Taste: A, if they hadn’t melted through, they would get an A+.  Seriously, so good. I really like that they are crunchy and melty, but not super greasy!

Would I make them again? Yes.  Hopefully I can perfect it and make them work without the cheese oozing out.

When you make a recipe that “fails” do you eat it anyways, or do you just trash it and start over?

2 thoughts on “Baked Mozzarella Balls

  1. Depends on how badly it fails. I once burned an alfredo sauce so badly it was no longer recognizable as a sauce. That got trashed, and I started over. But if it’s just a little “off” then we normally eat it anyway.

    Enough salt, butter, and/or ketchup, and most things are just fine. 😉

Leave a Reply

