Restaurant Review: T-Rex

Full Disclosure:  I paid for this meal with my own money and I was in no way reimbursed for this blog post.  The opinions are completely my own.

After a day at Disney’s Hollywood Studios, we decided to head to Downtown Disney to attempt to eat at the T-Rex.  I say attempt because everything that you read about Disney restaurants says that if you want to get a table at any major sit-down restaurant, you need a reservation – basically no question.  So, we tried to make it over to the T-Rex as close to 5pm as possible guessing that then we would be eating by 6 or 6:30.

T-Rex Restaurant

Little did we know, this was not the case that day.  Who knows if we just got lucky because the weather was unseasonably cold that week or what, but we got in and seated within 15 minutes!  Score!

Going inside this restaurant is like walking into a cave that brings you back in time.  It is really cool.  One of the features of the restaurant is that there are “meteor showers.”  Every 15 minutes (I think?) the cave dims. lights flash and change colors, stars fly across the ceiling, and dino’s roar.

It goes from this:

Blue Cave

To this:

Red Cave

Anyways, back to the food.

The menu has a large assortment of various categories of food, and beverages – including a huge selection of specialty beverages. They had something called a “cotton-tini”  Yes, you are correct, it is a cotton candy martini.  No, not cotton candy flavored martini, but a martini with actual cotton candy IN it.

Unfortuntely I wasn’t quick enough with my camera when the waitress came, but they actually pour the liquid from the shaker into your glass full of cotton candy.  Here is the end product:

Shaker

I was exactly what you would think it is: a fruity, sugary,  boozey drink.  The Husband loved it but it was too sweet for me.  Although, cotton candy on its own is pretty much too sweet for me.

For dinner, the Husband chose the Mega Mes-O-Bones. (A.K.A Full rack of ribs and waffle fries.)  He thought they were pretty good, nothing special really though.

Ribs

I chose the Paleo Shrimp.  (A.K.A parmesan crusted shrimp and linguine.)

Scampi

Let me just start out by saying that I always get “parmesan crusted” confused with breaded.  I forget that at a restaurant they generally mean the same thing.  Breaded shrimp is not my preference, but these actually weren’t bad.  The pasta was good too, but too spicy for me.

The whole time we were there, I couldn’t get past how much it reminded me of a dinosaur version of a Rainforest Cafe. While looking through the random brochures that  come with the bill at touristy restaruants, it all made sense.  It is done by the same company as the Rainforest Cafe.  Well, it all makes sense now.

Taste: B-, it wasn’t bad or anything, but not at all special.  Typical tourist trap fare.
Cost: C+, it was not cheap.  If the food was better, the price would be more reasonable.  Each entree was about $20-$40, plus drinks and tip.

Would I go there again? Probably not.  It was a fun, touristy, place to go – but the food really wasn’t worth it.  However, if you love dinosaurs, or have children who love dinosaurs, then this would definitely be a place that you should go at least once.

T-Rex Café on Urbanspoon

Has anyone taken young children to this restaurant or a Rainforest Cafe? Do they get scared at the larger than life moving animals? It seems like one of those places that, in theory, would be a perfect place for your animal-loving kid to eat, but really they might just be scared.

3 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: T-Rex

  1. Dude! cotton-tini! haha!

    How young do you mean by young? ha, because when I was like, 13 I was scared by the Rainforest Cafe!! It’s very unnerving, especially while eating dinner! I dont know that this would be a place for me – especially not with those prices!

Leave a Reply

