Product Review: Yoplait Greek Yogurt

I am challenging myself to try Greek Yogurt.  I am doing this in an effort to expand my food horizons, and gain more information about the benefits of Greek Yogurt.  I’m hoping to give it a fair shot by trying different kinds as I go.  I am not being paid for these reviews in any way, and these are my honest opinions.

This week I decided to try out Yoplait’s version of Greek Yogurt.  Why am I still trying different yogurts even though I really liked the other three that I already tried? It was on sale.  I am a sucker for sales.  $1 for Greek yogurt – I had to try it and see if there was a difference between the cheaper version and the more expensive versions that I’ve already tried.

Flavor:
Overall, the flavor was good.  This time I ate it plain, but with an apple and muffin on the side.  Sorry, not photos of the apple and muffin because I was SO hungry that they disappeared very quickly.  😉

The texture was more like regular yogurt than most of the others that I have tried.  It was thicker, but it had that same kind of gelatinous texture.

Health Benefits:
As with the other Greek yogurts that I have already reviewed, this one has lots more protein than “normal” yogurt.  There is 14g in the small container that I had.  However, when I took a second look at the ingredients I noticed something that I hadn’t seen before.

Kosher GelatinKosher Gelatin.

Ummm…what is that, and why is it in my yogurt? Well, I did some research on the internet and this is what I found out: from the Vegetarian Resource Group

  • Kosher gelatin can be made with fish bones, and/or beef skins.
  • Unless it is specified as being derived from a non-animal source, such as agar agar and carrageenan, it is very possible that kosher gelatin is animal-derived.

Well. Now I’m thoroughly  grossed out.  Yes, I knew what gelatin was before looking it up, thanks to a friend of mine who went vegetarian in elementary school and made it clear to everyone what gelatin was, but I guess I just forget until I read it again.  I guess that would explain why I thought the texture gelatinous.  Eew.

After noticing this, I went back and checked the ingredients on the other Greek yogurts to see if it was actually in the others and I just didn’t notice it.  Not in Oikos. Not in Chobani (in fact they specifically mention that it does not contain gelatin.) Not in Fage.  Well, that answers that question.

Yeah…..I don’t think this one is gonna be on my grocery list any time soon….

Taste: A-, but now after researching the gelatin situation, I’m kind of grossed out and I think the grade should be lower…..
Cost: B+, not surprisingly, this one was the cheapest I’ve tried so far.  It was on sale at my grocery store for $1.00.   But it seems like it is on sale all of the time, so I’m going to just count $1.00 as the regular price.  (I think it is something like $1.29 normally)  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: cost is directly proportionate to quality.  I’m fine for paying a bit more for gelatin-free Greek yogurt.

Well, that was sure an enlightening taste test.  I hope I didn’t gross anyone out too bad.  Also, I should make it clear that I am not against eating meat.  However, the description of what gelatin is grosses me out,  and is just not something that I want to put into my body.

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Yoplait Greek Yogurt

  1. Yoplait’s Greek yogurt bothers me. Traditional Greek yogurt gets its creamy texture and high protein from the straining process. Yoplait uses gelatin to make the yogurt creamier, and adds milk protein to increase the protein of the yogurt. I like to think of it as fake Greek yogurt.

    /end rant. I almost just gave away my job with that comment! lol.

  2. Eww… thoroughly grossed out here. Good thing I didn’t like the yoplait greek yogurt when I tried it. I thought it was gritty – like they took regular yogurt and just stirred in protein powder!

  3. There is no gelatin of any type in Olympos Yoghurts. It is an authentic Greek yoghurt imported from Greece and orthodox kosher certified.

  4. I’m not sure where you’re located – but Kroger (a grocery chain) has a store brand greek yogurt – and guess what! No gelatin! That plus it’s inexpensive!

Leave a Reply

