Top Ten Tuesday: Christmas Music – 70’s and 80’s

I’ll be honest.  When I was writing the top ten Classic Songs list, there were a few of these songs that I really thought were from an earlier era.  Many of the songs on this list are songs that I have grown up with, and have loved for many years.  Some of my absolute favorites.

So without further adieu, here are my top 10 Christmas songs from the 70’s and 80’s!

10) Paul McCartney – Wonderful Christmas Time

Doesn’t this song just make you happy?  I love it.

9) The Eagles – Bells Will Be Ringing

How could you think of the 70’s and 80’s without thinking of the Eagles? I imagine this song to be the classic slow dance song at holiday parties.

8 ) Jose Feliciano – Feliz Navidad

Another classic.  I especially loved this song when I was in high school and learned the translation of the lyrics in Spanish class.

7) Bruce Springsteen – Santa Claus is Comin to Town

I realize this version of the song was performed in some other country, but  it was the best version I could find.  Apparently people like to scream and cheer when they see Bruce in concert, and that doesn’t make for good video. Huh, who woulda thought? 😉

6) Band Aid – Do They Know Its Christmas

I LOVE artist collaborations.  I also LOVE Christmas music.  I think this one is pretty self explanatory.

5) The Carpenters – Merry Christmas Darling

I grew up with parents that loved The Carpenters, and we definitely listened to this song during Christmas time. Nostalgia, and classic 70’s music.

4) Whitney Houston – Do You Hear What I Hear

Looooove 80’s and early 90’s Whitney.

3) Joni Mitchell – River

Another classic 70’s musician singing a beautiful song.  I like many versions of this song, but I think this is my favorite.

2) John and Yoko and the Plastic Ono Band – Happy Xmas (War is Over)

Definitely one of my all time favorite Christmas songs. They lyrics are still so relevant today.  Classic.

1) David Bowie and Bing Crosby – Peace on Earth/Little Drummer Boy

Looooooove this song.  I wish I could listen to it year round.  My dad likes to joke that Bing Crosby had no idea who David Bowie was when he agreed to do the song with him.  This is probably my all time favorite Christmas song ever.

It was recently re-done by Anthony Rapp and Everett Bradley for a broadway Christmas CD.  This version is pretty good too.  Mostly because I ❤ Anthony Rapp

Every child must be made aware.  Every child must be made to care.  Care enough for his fellow man, to give all the love that he can.

Well, those are my picks for the 70’s and 80’s, what do you think? Did I miss anything?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Christmas Music – 70’s and 80’s

  1. 1) I absolutely LOVE “Wonderful Christmastime” and “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)”. Definitely need to make a note of that on my blog; clearly I wasn’t thinking straight! 😉

    2) David Bowie is God. Truth.

    3) I actually can’t stand Bruce’s version of “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” LOL. I keep trying every year, but as soon as I hear his voice, I cringe and change the station as quickly as possible. Maybe I’ll learn to love it someday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

