Gooey Cocoa Brownies

Sometimes when I have the idea in my head that I want brownies, I have to beg myself not to make them out of a box mix.  There is nothing wrong with box mixes on occasion, but I have SO many delicious looking brownie recipes bookmarked, that I need to get down to business and try them instead of just using the box.

Why there is a box brownie mix in my house in the first place I don’t know.  Oh wait, yes I do, it was on sale.  I’m as sucker for sales.

So, these brownies that I made were NOT box brownies.  But they were still easy. You can find the recipe here.  Even if you don’t want to go check out the Honey and Jam site (where the brownie recipe is) for the brownie recipe, check it out for the photos.  The photos are beautiful.

Not only are the photos beautiful, but this brownie recipe is delicious as well.  Ooey gooey chocolaty fudgy brownies.

Cocoa Brownie

Gooey Cocoa Brownie

Yeah, these didn’t last a long time in our house.

Tip: Make sure the bowl you are microwaving in is microwave safe.  It will save you from loosing one bowl out of a set to a microwave meltdown.  Yeah, I learned the hard way.  In my defense, it didn’t say not to microwave it either.

The only slight complaint I have is that I am a bigger fan of milk chocolate than dark chocolate, and these tasted more on the dark chocolatey side.  I’m sure it had to do with the cocoa I used.

Ease: A, really a lot easier than I expected.  Aside from, of course, measuring everything, they were almost as easy as box brownies.
Taste: A-, would it be wrong to complain that they are SO rich, that I can’t eat too many at a time? They definitely live up to what their name says.  Gooey cocoa deliciousness.

Would I make them again? Hmmm….  I’m not sure.  They were pretty darn good, and easy so I think I would.  There are just SO many brownie recipes out there, that it is hard for me to pick a favorite that I would make again and again.  It also just occurred to me that I could add peppermint to these, and they would be even more delicious!!  (and not to mention festive!)

Leave a Reply

