Crunchy Chicken Fingers

I’m pretty sure I could just pick something at random on How Sweet It Is and it would be delicious.  Really.  Here is another one of Jessica’s great recipes.  You can find it here.

For dinners during the week, I’m big on things being easy.  This is why I often end up throwing some noodles in a pot, adding cheese and calling it dinner.    This recipe is a better replacement for those noodles.

Even though you have to soak the chicken in buttermilk for at least two hours – I don’t find it very much of a hassle. Either I get home, put chicken in buttermilk before I even sit down (this is key!  Once I sit down, dinner will be majorly delayed if I wait until I get up again to do it) or I get it together the night before, so they are ready for dinner the next night. (They can sit in the buttermilk for up to 24 hours.)

After that step, its all very easy.  Also it isn’t really something that needs to be done super precisely.  Perfect for making after a long days work!

If I’ve learned one thing from making Jessica’s baked chicken/pasta/etc. recipes it is this:  the key to getting a crispy outside is spraying it with cooking spray before putting it in the oven.  I don’t know how she thought of this, but it makes a serious difference.

Crunchy Chicken Fingers

Crispy crunchy deliciousness.

Ease: A-, only because it takes a bit of thinking ahead.  Other than that its a breeze.
Taste: A, yum, yum, yum!

Would I make them again? Absolutely.  They are sooooooo much better than frozen chicken tenders.  I also like that she used the buttermilk to hold on the crispy breading instead of egg.

Random question: What is your favorite Christmas song?
Yes, I have started listening to Christmas music already.  Sorry if you think its too early.  I love it.
I’ll have a top ten list of my all time favorites coming up soon! 🙂

Now I’m going to get back to working on my Handmade Christmas projects!  Are you working on any Handmade Christmas gifts?  I’d love to hear about them! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Crunchy Chicken Fingers

  1. Huh I never would have thought of using cooking spray like that either but I will have to try that, they look delicious! And don’t worry I couldn’t hold myself back anymore either, I started listening to Christmas music on Tuesday! 🙂 Tough too pick only one as a fave, I love almost every one! I would have to say the original “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” and Mariah’s ” All I want for Christmas is You”. Excited to see your top 10! 🙂

Leave a Reply

