Goat Cheese Toasts with Arugula

This Thinkfood recipe is one that I was very excited to see in my email.  It comes from Lisa at Food and Spice.  You can find her recipe here.

Of all of the foods that I love, bread is high on that list.  I am a total carb lover.  Give me bread and pasta and I will be happy.

I did hit one speed bump making this recipe though.  In the instructions it says to use a mortar and pestle to make a paste with the basil and olive oil.  I don’t have a mortar and pestle, and don’t know what else I would use it for if I went and bought one.  Luckily, I have some great twitter friends who help me figure out how to work with what I have.  I ended up using a small blender/food processor instead, and it worked pretty well.  It probably didn’t turn out as pasty as it should have, but it worked well enough.

Goat Cheese Toasts

I’m pretty impressed with how fancy looking these turned out.

They tasted good as well!  I can’t say that I 100% love goat cheese, but the flavor is definitely growing on me I think.

Ease: B-, there is quite a bit of prep involved, but not really anything too difficult.
Taste: B+, pretty darn good.  It would be an A+ with fresh mozzarella cheese instead of the goat cheese, but my goal is to try new things, so that is what I did.

Would I make them again? Probably – or at least something similar.  They would go well with any kind of dish you would normally have bread with – pasta, salad, soup, sandwich, bread…..oh wait maybe that’s just me that eats bread with more bread 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

