Perfect Butternut Squash Sage Dip

Here is Thinkfood recipe number 18!

This recipe comes from Kathy at Lunch Box Bunch.  You can find the recipe here.

This was not at all a hard recipe to make.  Since the ingredients call for canned butternut squash, I didn’t have to peel and chop it myself!  That of course has its ups and downs.  I did enjoy the texture of the fresh squash in the macaroni, but since this is meant to be a dip, the texture matters less. (You should also know that I didn’t put the cayenne pepper in…but I don’t think it really hurt the flavor.)

Butternut Squash Dip

Overall, I actually enjoyed the dip.  It smelled really good, and it tasted pretty good as well.  I used wheat thins to dip.  The recipe also suggests crusty bread or veggies and I also think it would be awesome with pretzel bread.

Ease: A+, only measuring and mixing involved.
Taste: B+, pretty good.  I think the maple syrup really was key in making it a tasty dip.

Would I make it again? Probably.  It would make a really nice dip to take to take to a potluck dinner, simple – but it seems fancy!

I feel like it is kind of squash overload in the blog world right now!  Although, it is in season, and it is a pretty versatile thing to cook with so I suppose I shouldn’t complain.  Maybe next week I’ll venture out and try Acorn Squash…..or maybe even Pumpkin….

One thought on “Perfect Butternut Squash Sage Dip

Leave a Reply

