Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

Now I know why I have seen butternut squash all of the blogs I have been reading recently.  There are so many different things you can do with it and soooooo many different recipes out there.

I found this one over at Meals and Miles.  Meghann, the writer behind Meals and Miles, is another of the fabulous organizers of the Healthy Living Summit that I went to back in August.  You can find her recipe here.

It was not a difficult recipe – although cutting up butternut squash is not the easiest thing in the world. Is there some kind of technique to it that I don’t know about?

Butternut Squash Apple Soup

My soup kind of turned out more like squash applesauce.  My liquid to squash ratio was not quite right.  That being said, it didn’t taste bad.  I’m not sure that I love the taste of butternut squash enough to have a soup made out of it, but it wasn’t bad.   I didn’t really taste the apple in it at all….should I have?   It seems like the butternut squash flavor is a lot stronger than the apple flavor so I should have added either more apple or less squash.

Ease: A-, it does take quite a bit of time, but the physical labor is minimal.
Taste: C+, I don’t know.  Something about the texture and the taste was not great for me.  If you are a butternut squash lover though, you might love it!

Would I make it again? Probably not.  Just not my kind of soup.

One thought on “Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

Leave a Reply

