Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

After the Badger’s amazing win over Ohio State on Saturday, I thought it would be appropriate to make red cookies in their honor.

Ok, I lied.  I was planning on making them all day, the win was just an added bonus. 🙂

These cookies are from one of my absolute favorite food blogs How Sweet It Is.  If you are ever looking for a great dessert to try, check out Jessica’s blog.  I have made several of them (some before I started blogging) including her Pumpkin Pie Spice and Mac and Cheese Cupcakes.

You can find the recipe for these delicious cookies here.

Overall they were not at all difficult to make.  I had everything I needed on hand, and they turned out fantastically!

Red Velvet Cookie

The only thing I’m not sure about is how solid the dough turned out.  The cookies did not melt down at all, they basically stayed however they were formed onto the cookie sheet.  Is that normal?  Should my dough have been more…..doughy?

Luckily the solidity of the dough had nothing to do with the taste.  They still tasted like delicious chocolatey cookies.  I also love that it only made about 15 cookies.  That is the perfect amount for the husband and I to both have some straight out of the oven and have a few leftover for later.  Most of the time I don’t need 3 dozen cookies in my house.  Although, then I usually end up taking them to work, and other people seem to enjoy that. 🙂

Ease: A+, really simple.  Just mix the ingredients, throw some dough on a cookie sheet and you are done.
Taste: A, really solid chocolate chip cookies.  Although, I think I would add more chocolate chips next time.  You do get a chocolatey flavor from the cocoa powder as well, but I like the gooeyness of the chocolate chips too.

Would I make them again? Most likely.  As soon as I figure out if the dough was supposed to be that thick, I would definitely like to make them again……or possibly even for Christmas cookies?

Speaking of Christmas……lets take a poll. 
When is the appropriate time to start listening to
Christmas music?
I LOVE Christmas music, but I know others are not so keen on listening to it in October.  After Thanksgiving is a rule of thumb that I’ve heard from some people.  Thoughts?

8 thoughts on “Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I made the same cookies (thanks Jessica!)… my ‘dough’ was ridiculously stiff. I thought it was abnormal and that maybe I forgot an ingredient. Re-read and realized I hadn’t. Plus, they tasted good! They weren’t as “red velvet” as I had hoped with that pretty red colour, but in the end, they all ended up in my tummy… well, mostly my boyfriends tummy!

  2. I saw this on How Sweet as well and REALLY want to make them as soon as I have the time!!

    and I follow the wait until after T-giving rule, but I honestly don’t get THAT irritated with people who start earlier. To each their own. But I will say that if you start celebrating too early, there’s a chance of getting tired of it quicker, and it just seems to diminish the significance.

  3. Cookies look very yummy, def want to try this one out! 🙂 i am a huge christmas music fan too! i usually try to make my self wait till thanksgiving but last year i think i started the st week of november cuz I was just so excited. 🙂

  4. Christmas music starts whenever I start to be in the mood, usually after halloween 🙂 But it’s my favorite type of music so i could listen all year long 🙂

Leave a Reply

