Rob's Favorite Lamb Kofta

Thinkfood recipe number 17 is here!

As with almost every other Thinkfood recipe so far, this one includes an ingredient that I have never had: lamb.  No matter how it tastes, I’m not sure how I feel about eating lamb.  However,  I don’t want this post to become about the ethics of eating animals, so I will save that for another time.

This recipe comes from Jessica of Apples and Butter.  You can find the recipe here.

This was not a difficult recipe to make.  It was much like making hamburgers…….and very similar to my experience making turkey burgers.

And much like, well, burgers of any kind, I’m not sure that I like it.

I had the meat on the skewers to start, but then realized that I made them too thick so I had to flatten them out in order for them to cook evenly.  I should also mention that I do not have a food processor, so I had to just chop as finely as I could and then mix everything together by hand.

Lamb

Ease: A-, there was some chopping and mixing by nothing horrible – and I would imagine it would only get easier if you actually had a food processor.
Taste: B-, like I said before I’m not sure how I feel about eating lamb, but as far as taste goes…..meh.  I’m not a huge fan of the ground meat texture, so I didn’t really enjoy it.  However, as far as flavors go it was not bad.  The onions were a little much though.

Would I make it again? No, probably not.  Just not my kinda food.  If you like ground meat texture though, this might be something different to try.

Is anyone out there a big fan of onions?  I’ve heard of people that eat them like apples! Are there really people out there that love the flavor that much?!?
I don’t mind a slight oniony flavor, but lots of chopped onions in anything just seems unnecessary to me.

In a non-food related note, can I just say WAY TO GO BUCKY!!! The Badgers had an awesome game and beat the No. 1 ranked Ohio State Buckeyes!!  Woo Hoo!!  We sure did show them how to Bucky!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

