Lentil and Squash Salad

Thinkfood recipe number 16 is here!  That’s right, I made two in one week, so now I’m back on track with one per week.    Aren’t you proud? 🙂

This recipe comes from Heather of Hangry Pants.  Not only is Hangry Pants a great blog that I often read (and not to mention a great name for a blog) but I actually met Heather at the Healthy Living Summit back in August where she was one of the fabulous organizers.   🙂

You can find her recipe here.   And don’t forget, you can find all of the previous Thinkfood recipes that I have made by clicking on the Thinkfood tab, or going here.

We already know how I feel about Garbanzo Beans.  Eew.
We already know how I feel about zucchini.  DELICIOUS!

I wasn’t sure what to think about this recipe.  I was hopeful.  I hadn’t had lentils before, but for some reason I imagined them being like sweet peas  (I guess maybe becuase they look like flat versions of them?) so I had not given up hope that I would like them.

With some Twitter help from Heather and Evan I learned how to cook lentils.  Not hard at all. However, I think I was afraid that they were going to get mushy so I might not have cooked them enough.  They weren’t exactly hard – but they weren’t quite soft enough for my liking.  Or, maybe I was expecting them to get as soft as sweet peas and they just don’t get that soft without getting mushy?

Other than figuring out how to cook lentils, I didn’t really have any other problems.  Just chopping, dicing, slicing and baking.

Once everything was cooked and mixed, it turned out like this:

Lentil Squash Salad

Because of my issues with garbanzo beans, of course, I didn’t love it.

However, I did love parts of it.  The roasted zucchini and squash were really good  The garlic and cheese flavors, and then adding the dill when I mixed everything together was a great combination.  I could eat those on their own.

The lentils I didn’t love, but I would be willing to give them another chance.   Like I said, I’m not sure that I cooked them enough, so the taste and texture was kind of off for me.

Ease: B+, nothing too hard, but there were a bunch of steps that had to be done before the final product.
Taste: B-, now you have to imagine how good that roasted zucchini is to make up for my dislike of garbanzo beans, and I still ended up with this score.

Would I make it again? Probably not the whole dish, but those roasted zucchini could be an awesome side dish on their own!

**Be sure to go visit Rebecca’s Bake and Make Sale to benefit Making Strides Against Breast Cancer!  You can bid on my Snickerdoodle Blondies, or other goodies!  Bidding is open until Midnight EST tonight (10/6) Bidding has now closed, thanks to all who bid! :)**

One thought on “Lentil and Squash Salad

  1. LOL. You are a trooper for trying this and disliking a main ingredient! I hope you get an idea that toggling from it.

    And lentils aren’t as squishy as peas, but sounds like you did undercook a bit.

Leave a Reply

