Pumpkin Pie Spice

Every time I read How Sweet Eats, I get inspired to make things.  Or, maybe more appropriately I should say bake things.  This week, when she posted about how to make your own pumpkin pie spice.  Again I was inspired.

Making your own spice mixtures is such a good idea, something I never have thought to do.  You can find her recipe here.

Not only is it very easy to make, and saves you a trip to the store, but it also saves you the cost of buying another new spice!

Pumpkin Pie Spice(confession: this picture is missing the cardamom.  I thought I had it on hand, but I don’t.  It will be added once I get some. 🙂 )

I’m not exactly sure what I will be using this for yet, but I’m sure I’ll think of something!

While we are on the topic of spices, I have to tell you about one of the best wedding gifts that we received.  If you are ever looking for a gift to give someone, and you know they cook and bake, but have a lot of kitchen “things” buy them spices.  Or, even better, buy them a gift certificate to a spice shop.

I was always under the impression that Penzeys Spices was a local spice shop.  They definitely have a local feel, and I had only ever seen the store in Madison.  When we got a gift certificate to Penzey’s from an Aunt who lives in Florida I was confused.  Are they not actually a small local store? I looked online, and sure enough, they are not really a local shop.  There are locations in many different states, as well as online and catalog ordering.  They are based out of the Milwaukee area though so, to me, they are still semi-local. 🙂

Here are a couple of reasons why a spice show gift certificate would make a great gift:

Spices are the gift that keeps on giving.  Knowing that I have a gift certificate to use at Penzey’s makes me more willing to make recipes that have different kinds of spices in them.  If I am weary of a recipe, and it involves buying lots of ingredients that I don’t normally use, I am less likely to make it.  However, if these ingredients are essentially free to me, then it takes a bit of the pressure off.

The other great thing about a gift certificate to a spice shop, is that a little bit of money goes a long way.  I understand, some spices are more expensive than others, but considering how much use you get out of one small jar of spices, there is a lot of bang for your buck.  Or, if there is a spice that you use all of the time, you can stock up!

Even if you don’t have a lot of money to spend, a gift certificate to a spice shop is the way to go.  It is something that will be unique, and something that your baking or cooking enthusiast friend is sure to use!

Spices would even make a great gift for someone who is not so savvy in the kitchen.  Why not give them a favorite recipe of yours along with the spices needed to make it?

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie Spice

Leave a Reply

