Blueberry and Crème Fraîche Ice Cream

Here comes this week’s Thinkfood recipe!

This recipe comes from Mary at The Arugula Files (Great blog name!)  You can find her recipe here.  You can also find the other 11 recipes so far in the series by clicking on the Thinkfood tab, or going here.

Although summer seems to be coming to an end here in Wisconsin, it is always time for ice cream!

Looking at it, this recipe sounded very simple – especially because I have an ice cream maker.  I got a late start with the ice cream making this summer, but I will definitely put it to better use next summer!

For a recipe that only includes three ingredients, it surprised me that I had a hard time finding one of them.  I have heard of crème fraîche before – but mostly just mentioned on cooking shows.  The biggest problem was was that I didn’t know where to find it – by the milk products? Cheeses? Help!

I did end up finding it at Whole Foods near the cheeses – but I was surprised that my local grocery store didn’t have it since they have a pretty large selection.  Or, maybe I just wasn’t looking in the right place.

As far as the recipe goes, it was easy.  It did take a bit of time to liquefy the blueberries, but nothing that requires a great deal of skill or attention.

Here is the final product.

Blueberry Creme Fraiche Ice Cream

One of the things that I love about this recipe, is that it doesn’t make a ton of ice cream.  It was about the perfect amount for two servings.

I also LOVE the color.  The way my food looks, definitely affects how I think it will taste.

That being said, it just tasted alright.  I ended up slicing some bananas into mine, which made it a lot more enjoyable.  I didn’t love the flavor – it tasted like really cold, slightly solid Greek yogurt to me.

Also, I’m not sure that I cooked the blueberries for long enough.  There were still quite a few blueberry skins left in the mix which I did not enjoy.

Ease: A, keep in mind that this is the ice cream maker version – the other way does look a bit more difficult.
Taste: B, I didn’t love it, but I didn’t really dislike it.

Would I make it again? I’m not sure.  It was easy, and maybe if I make it again and get rid of the blueberry skins I would like it more.

How did you spend your Labor Day weekend?
I actually had to work yesterday, but on Saturday I went down to the Taste of Madison! Yum Yum!  Aaaaand now I want some more delicious Cookie Dough Egg Rolls……they are the best….

One thought on “Blueberry and Crème Fraîche Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

