Better Berry Nutrigrain Bars

When I saw Mama Pea post this recipe, I knew I had to make it.

Nutri-Grain bars (or something similar but not the same brand) are a staple in my diet.  Since I am so picky, it often takes me a while to decide what I really want to eat.  I always try to keep something with me so that I have a backup plan for when I am really hungry so it doesn’t turn to hangry.  This is especially an issue when I am traveling.

You can find Mama Pea’s recipe here.  If you have not ever visited her blog, do it now!  Her blog is filled with adventures with her kids, cooking -and feeding her kids – vegan, challenges of parenting, and always lots of fun.  It is one of the most well written, interesting and fun blogs out there.

I didn’t have pastry flour on hand, so I researched online, and substituted 1/2 all purpose flour and 1/2 cake flour.

I also used strawberry preserves instead of the blueberry that she used, and I used regular butter instead of Earth Balance.

Overall it was not at all hard to make.  Simple ingredients, and a simple process.

Better Berry Nutrigrain Bar

These are SO good.  They taste exactly like strawberry Nutrigrain bars.  I was so impressed by how well these came out, and how easy they were!

I might have undercooked them slightly, but it didn’t really bother me.

Mama Pea for the win.

Ease: A, really easy.  The only thing that I had slight issues with, was putting the top crust layer on while still keeping the preserves evenly spread.  Not really a big deal, mine just didn’t look as pretty as they could have.
Taste: A+, seriously, these taste so similar to other breakfast bars that I’ve had.  Actually, they taste better!

Would I make these again? Yes!  How awesome would it be if I could make variations of these every week instead of buying breakfast bars?  Hmmm….that sounds like a challenge….

As much as I don’t think I could ever go vegan (I like cheese too much) this recipe really helped me realize that it is not that hard to eat vegan, and it definitely doesn’t mean that you have to loose flavors or variety.  Ashley, who is also vegan, posted today about this exact thing.  You just have to be creative, know ways to work around things and veganize.

I’m not trying to say that I want to go vegan, but I am saying that I need to get more creative.  In order to get out of this rut of pickiness, I need to take a hint from these ladies.

Be creative and try new things.  Those are the guidelines that I need to follow.

How do you change up what you eat everyday without being overwhelmed by making new things for every meal?

6 thoughts on “Better Berry Nutrigrain Bars

  1. I am constantly GIDDY by the fact that my vegan cooking is so incredibly awesome… I’m not bragging, I mean the FLAVORS are sometimes better… 🙂

    these bars look awesome.

    I make a BIG pot of quinoa each Monday… I love bowls, and eat them nearly every day and some dinners… I just get creative with the veggies / toppings / sauces / yummy that I pair with the quinoa. 🙂

  2. Nice job making those jars – I’ve got the post bookmarked for once we eat up all of our store-bought granola bars :). I think I’ve gotten used to lots of weird ingredients by now, but I usually tried out one at a time – so maybe just trying hemp seeds in a smoothie or something like that instead of throwing in a bunch of new things.

  3. yum! i hate having to buy breakfast bars that usually have ingredients i think are sketchy, but i love having something quick and healthy to grab as i leave the house in the morning. i’m definitely going to try these! 🙂

  4. they look amazing! I too am interested to try and make these yummy looking bars. we go through granola bars faster than almost anything else in the hosue! keep up the great work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

