Chocolate Lava Cake

Last night I decided to attempt to re-create one of my favorite fast food desserts: the Chocolate Lava Crunch Cake from Domino’s.

Lava Crunch Cake

With a quick Google search, I found a recipe that looked easy enough.  And it turned out, it was easy.

I did have a bit of an issue with the baking time though.  The author or the recipe suggests to bake them for 10 minutes.  I checked mine after 10 minutes, and they were no more than warm pudding.  The author does suggest that the baking time may vary depending on how gooey you want your cake to be.

I set the timer for two more minutes and checked again.  Still not done.  It ended up taking about 16 minutes (six minutes more than anticipated) until they were done enough for me -but still had a melty center.

Lava cake

They were good.  Really good.

The only thing that wasn’t as good as the Domino’s version was the crunch.  They were definitely lava cakes, but the outside of these were not crunchy like the others.

So, we attempted to add some crunch by cooking the rest a bit longer.  We put them back in the oven for about 8 more minutes. (a total of 24) When we took them out, they were definitely more cooked, but not crispy.

Lava Cake

I would say these were about 95% as good as the fast food version, they were just missing the crunch.  Any idea how I could make them more crunchy on the outside while still keeping the lava in the middle?

Ease: A, a lot easier than I expected actually.
Taste: A-, not quite perfect, but still really good.

Would I make them again? Probably.  Although they aren’t quite a perfect match to the Lava Crunch cakes, they make a fun, fancy, and delicious dessert!

One thought on “Chocolate Lava Cake

  1. hmm… I’ve never had the domino version… perhaps some sugar or something sprinkled on top… you know, to make a crunchy “layer”?

    this sounds awesome, tho. 🙂

Leave a Reply

