Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

This recipe caught my eye a while ago and I am finally going to make it!  It is from Abby who is the blogger behind Abby Normally.  You can find the recipe here.

I had a hard time figuring out what category these belong in.  They are called “muffins”  so they would be in the “breads” category right?  But isn’t a chocolate muffin really a cupcake?  So do I put them in the dessert category?

I ended up putting them in the breads category.  For me, a major difference between a muffin and a cupcake, is that a cupcake is frosted.  These are not frosted, therefore they do not belong in the dessert category.

Glad I cleared that one up.  🙂

I picked up the zucchini for this recipe at the Dane County Farmers Market this morning!

Zucchini

Isn’t it pretty?!  It is a giant organic striped zucchini.  I only used about 3 or 4 inches off of it for the recipe, this thing is huge!

Overall these are not hard to make.  You do have to grate some zucchini, but otherwise nothing else besides measuring and mixing.

Chocolate Zucchini Muffin

I really liked these.  The texture and taste was perfect!

They were definitely a muffin – not a cupcake.

Ease: A-, only because of the zucchini grating, nothing else too difficult.
Taste: A, they were really good!

Will I make them again? Yes!  I don’t really have a go-to muffin recipe, so when I’m in the mood I think this will be it!

I have a recipe that I want to make that tells me to use a muffin-top pan, and as I was looking online for one I came across these on the VitaTop website.  I haven’t actually had VitaTop Muffins before,but I’ve heard so many people rave about them! 
Have you had VitaTop’s?
Are they as awesome as I am lead to believe they are?
Have you tried the mixes or the muffin top pans?

aaannnd now I’m going to go eat another muffin 🙂

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

  1. I’ve never tried the Vita-Tops… they’re just too expensive for me when I know I can make muffins for so cheap at home!

Leave a Reply

