Blueberry-nana Smoothie

This is installment number 9 of the Thinkfood series.  It comes from Shannalee of foodloveswriting.com You can find the recipe here.

You can also check out the rest of the Thinkfood recipes that I have made by clicking on the Thinkfood tab, or here.

(Coincidentally, Shannalee is from Chicago – which is where I just was last weekend!)

When I first saw the title of this recipe, I was pretty excited.  It sounded easy and delicious.

Then I looked at the ingredient list.  The first think that came to mind was:  “Where in the world do I find Coconut oil and Flaxseed oil???”

I was also slightly concerned about my old blender‘s ability to crush ice.

I did find the Coconut and Flaxseed oils at my local grocery store – and I’m sure I would have also been able to find them at Whole Foods.  I guess they just sounded so foreign to me, that it kind of freaked me out.

This was SO easy to make.  Put things in blender.  Blend.  Done.

Blueberry-Nana Smoothie

Added bonus:  it smells like a blueberry muffin.  Seriously.

It tastes pretty good too! I’m not a huge blueberry fan, but the added banana was a good balance. They do make it look pretty though 🙂

What about those weird oils that I added? I tasted maybe a hint of coconut but otherwise I couldn’t tell that they were there.  Added nutrients with no added taste.  Sounds like a win to me.

The only problem I had was – as suspected – my blender had issues with the ice.  The not-so-blended ice didn’t really hurt the flavor, but if it was thicker and icier it would have been even better.

Ease: A, really, really easy.
Taste: B+, I am not a huge fan of blueberries, but this was a pretty good smoothie.

Would I make it again? Probably.  I would definitely make it if I included other fruits to diminish the blueberry taste a bit.  As far as the added oils go, now that I know they don’t really have any kind of flavor, I will definitely think about including them more in things that I make.

Now that I have a bottle of flax oil, what else can I use it for???
I really don’t want to waste it so I’m hoping you all have some great ideas! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Blueberry-nana Smoothie

  1. So glad you enjoyed it! I know those ingredients can be hard to find, but hey – now that you have coconut oil, feel free to sub it for part or all of the butter in baking. Or to saute vegetables. Or anytime you need to oil a pan. It’s crazy good for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

