Recipe: Cookie Kisses

This recipe is from the fabulous Cookiemania book.  However, I couldn’t find the exact recipe anywhere on the internet.  (I know, the whole internet!)  Many that I found were different proportions, or had nuts, or cocoa.  So, I thought I will share this recipe with you. 🙂

Ingredients
1 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
1 14oz 12oz bag of Hershey’s Kisses
Confectioners Sugar

Cream butter and sugar until well blended.

Add in vanilla and flour.  Mix well.

Place in refrigerator to cool for about an hour.  This step takes place because the dough gets very soft and gooey after being handled.  In order to prevent this, the dough is cooled first.

While you are waiting, unwrap the kisses and set them aside.  I actually only got a 12oz bag instead of the suggested 14oz and we only ended up using about 3/4 of the kisses before we ran out of dough.

After the dough has chilled, preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Take a small amount of the dough and work it with your hands until it is warmed and softer.  The dough will seem really cold and hard at first, but once you work with it it warms up fast.

Flatten out a small piece of dough and wrap around the kiss, covering it completely.  Put it on an ungreased baking sheet. Continue doing this until you run out of dough.

Bake cookies in preheated oven for 12-15 minutes, or until golden brown.  The amount of time it takes to cook will depend on how much dough you wrap around the kiss.

Let cool completely.

Once cooled, roll in powdered sugar and enjoy 🙂

Cookie Kisses

These cookies seem so classic to me. They taste like classic sugar cookies, with a chocolate surprise.

Ease: B-. unwrapping the kisses, and then re-wrapping them with dough, and then rolling them in the powdered sugar is quite a bit of work.  None of it is hard, just time consuming.
Taste: A-, I’m not a huge sugar cookie fan, so I thought that the batch we made were too much cookie and not enough chocolate.  However, if we make them again with less dough, I think hey will be perfect.

Would I make them again? Yes.  I can see these being up for different interpretations, just like the Oreo Balls.

One thought on “Recipe: Cookie Kisses

  1. NOM ! these sound great… they remind me of a cookie my mom made when I was little… no chocolate, but it was a vanilla cookie dusted in powdered sugar… seriously one of my favorite cookies ever, and now you add chocolate???

    life is complete 🙂

Leave a Reply

