Curried Wheat Berry and Tomato Salad

This is the 8th recipe in the PositScience Thinkfood series.  It comes from Lori over at Fake Food Free. There are definitely other recipes that I would like to try on her site, AND she has a pug!!!  Ok, so  I might be a little obsessed with pugs…..well, dogs really…..but who can resist this face:

Olive

This is our pug Olive.  She has been in a previous post, begging for my waffles, but I thought I would officially introduce you all to her.  She will be 3 years old in October, and yes she has been working on that gray beard since she was about 6 months old.

Anyways.

You can find the other Thinkfood recipes that I have made on the Thinkfood Tab.

So….if you are like me and have no idea what a wheat berry is.  Let me fill you in.  I did some research.  Here are some things I found out about them on this healthy eats blog on Foodnetwork.com:

  • Wheat berries are whole wheat kernels. They look like thick, short grains — similar to brown rice.
  • Since the wheat kernel is left intact, virtually none of the nutrients are stripped away. A cup of cooked wheat berries has about 300 calories and is packed with fiber, protein and iron. Tasty sprouts are loaded with vitamin E, a cell-protecting antioxidant, and magnesium, which is good for healthy bones and muscles.

Oh dear, these seem WAY too healthy for me! 🙂

I asked Lori – from Fake Food Free – if she had any advice for cooking wheat berries before I started.  Since, obviously, I have never cooked them before.  She told me to cook them a day ahead to make sure they were cold, or make sure to run lots of cold water over them after they are cooked.

I intended to cook them last night, and prepare the salad tonight, but that didn’t work out.  So  I will choose the option to rinse them with cold water after they are cooked.

This recipe was not hard to make.  The wheat berries did take quite a bit of time to cook, but no real physical labor involved.  Just chopping a few things, but nothing too intense.

I tried the wheat berries before I put the dressing on.  Since I have never had them before, I wanted to eat them plain first to make sure that it wasn’t just the dressing that I didn’t like.  Turns out, wheat berries are yet another grain that I like.  Not really a surprise since I can’t really name a plain grain that I don’t like.

After putting all of the ingredients and dressing together I tried it again.

Curried Wheatberries

Not too bad.  I definitely didn’t dislike it.  I’m not a fan of tomatoes though….but they are easy to pick around. 🙂

Then I did something a little risky.

Wheatberries Chip

Yes, that is what it looks like.  Curried wheat berries on a tortilla chip.  It actually was pretty good! In fact, it tasted a bit like salsa.  Someone should come up with a wheat berry salsa!

Overall it was not hard to make, and tasted pretty good.

Ease: B+, it took a while for it to cook, but other than that, nothing more than chopping and mixing.
Taste: B, pretty solid but not great.

Would I make it again? Yeah I think so.  It would make a good side dish.

Are wheat berries and couscous always eaten cold?
I don’t dislike them cold, but I think I like them quite a bit more when they are warm.  Just wondering if it is the particular recipe, or just generally how the grains are eaten.

One thought on “Curried Wheat Berry and Tomato Salad

  1. How awesome that you have a pug! She is adorable and I just love that gray chin. Macy’s chin is turning gray, but she is going on 8. I think it is so cute that her little chin started getting gray so early. What a face! Thanks for the mention and reviewing the recipe. Great idea to make it a dip!

Leave a Reply

