White Lotus Punch

I found this recipe online through an email newsletter from  Yoga Journal.  The actual recipe is from Vegetarian Times.  You can find the actual recipe here.

I am not a vegetarian, per se, but many of the meals that I make are meatless.  Not even really on purpose, but I tend to just eat what I am craving.  And what is available and easy for me to make.  A lot of the time that does not include meat.  I would call my eating habits those of a flexitarian.

This is a term that I first heard of on Heather’s blog.

According to Wikipedia – because that is the best random information source on the internet – it is one of the words used to describe a semi-vegetarian diet.

In 2003, the American Dialect Society voted flexitarian as the year’s most useful word and defined it as “a vegetarian who occasionally eats meat.”

Semi-vegetarianism is a term used to describe diets that are not vegetarian, but include less meat than typical diets.

I have always liked pasta and bread more than hamburgers.  The only meat that I have ever eaten on a regular basis is chicken – and I’m even losing my fondness for that. But I do crave a chicken sandwich or a steak on occasion.

I really like this term “flexitarian.”  I feel like it accurately describes how I eat, without having to list all of the things that I don’t like.

Alright, back to this tasty beverage.

I decided to make this drink because it sounded very refreshing and delicious.  Perfect for a hot summer day.  And it is a hot one today.  Yes, people, Wisconsin does, in fact, get hot in the summer.  It has been in the mid to high 80’s for far too long.  I’m ready for fall.

Just fall though, not winter.

Aside from the waiting part, this recipe takes no time at all.  Pop some tea bags into some water, let sit, add some apple juice, and you’re done.

So, let me say that I am not a fan of iced tea.  That is, the iced tea that I have had I didn’t like.  This, however, does not taste like iced tea.

White Lotus Punch

It is so refreshing!  It tastes similar to a light raspberry lemonade.  Yummmmm.

Ease: A, even though you do have to wait 3 hours for the tea, I’m still giving it a solid A because it is SO easy.
Taste: A, delicious and refreshing.

Would I make it again? Yeah probably.  It would make a nice party punch.

The Operation Beautiful Book is officially in stores today!
Did you go buy your copy?

Leave a Reply

