Grown Up Fruit Salad

This week’s installment of the Thinkfood cookbook looks fresh, and delicious! The recipe comes from Rachel at A Southern Fairy Tale.  You can find this recipe here.

This is the sixth recipe of the series.  (There will be 50 total!)  You can find the rest of them in the Thinkfood tab on upper left, or you can click here.  I will ad them all as I go.

Things that I am not too sure about going into this:

  • Cranberries: I am a big fan of cranberry juice, in fact cranberry juice + vodka is in close running for my adult beverage of choice.   However, I’ve never had just plain cranberries….and they have never really been appealing to me.
  • Walnuts: I wouldn’t say that I dislike most nuts, but in general I’m not a big fan.  Peanuts or cashews on Asian foods are good, but I don’t know how I feel about them with fruit.

Other than those two, really the rest of the ingredients look good!  I didn’t put blueberries on the list, and I’m not a huge fan, but I’m ready to try them again.  It is very rare that I find a fruit I don’t like.

Grown Up Fruit Salad

So here is the final product.  Doesn’t it look pretty?!  That is one reason why I want to cook with more fresh produce, it just looks more appetizing.  I was watching the Today Show this morning and they had the Eat This Not That guy on.  When he described one of the “not that” plates as “…lots of beige” it made me realize some things.

  • Most super processed foods do look beige.  Well, unless they are artificially colored I suppose.
  • Eating, for me, is quite a bit about being visually appealing.  Maybe this is my background in art setting in, but I have been known to buy a fruit or veggie at the grocery store, just because it looks pretty.  No plan in mind, other than “hopefully I’ll eat this.”
  • A good way for me to make sure I am eating a diverse range of foods is to look at the colors I am eating.  Those beige, carby colors that I love so much often take over my diet.

So what did I think of the salad? It was pretty good.  As I have mentioned in the past, I’m not sure how I feel about spinach…but mixed with other salad greens it is alright.

The fruit portions of the salad, of course, were delicious.  I did give the blueberries another try and they weren’t bad – but I would still choose strawberries over them any day!  If you didn’t already notice, I talked about cranberries before making the recipe……and there aren’t any on the salad.  That was not on purpose!  Really!   I totally spaced and forgot to add the dried cranberries at the end of the recipe.  Don’t worry, they will not go to waste!  I will just have to find another recipe to use them in.

As for the walnuts, I’m ok with them as long as they are chopped up fine enough.  Some of my favorite bites of the salad were actually strawberry+spinach+tiny bits of walnuts. Yum!

Ease: A, very easy.  I would say the hardest part – for me – was peeling and slicing the kiwi. But apparently I was just having issues, because the husband came home and did it perfectly.  Chopping the walnuts was a breeze because we used the food chopper again.
Taste:B, it was pretty good.  I think it could have used some kind of dressing….balsamic of something.  Some of the bites just tasted kind of dry.

Would I make it again? Yes.  In fact, it would be a really great dish to bring to a potluck as a dish to pass.

What is your favorite fruit?
What is the strangest fruit you’ve tried?
If it wasn’t obvious from this post, my favorite is by far strawberries.  Delicious!  As far as the oddest fruit I’ve tried…..I remember the teacher bringing in pomegranate in elementary school and all of us thinking it was super cool.  Other than that, I’ve tried starfruit….probably others that I can’t think of.  There are also fruits that you all would not consider unusual that I have not ever tried….but those will remain nameless. 🙂

Leave a Reply

