Garlic Vegetable Couscous

Tonight’s dinner was another recipe by Savvy Julie. You can find it here.

This recipe sounded good to me because it includes two of my favorite things: garlic and zucchini.  I have never had couscous before, but it sounded like something I wanted to try.

Overall this recipe was not hard, although it did involve a bit of good timing.  Or maybe I just needed to read the whole recipe and prep things ahead of time.  ahem. oops.

So here is the final product:

Garlic Veggie Couscous

My consensus  is split.  But I think it is mostly good.  The couscous was good.  It reminded me a bit of oatmeal. Especially when it was cooking, it definitely smelled like oatmeal to me.  The texture was kind of odd at first, but I got used to it, and I do like it.  One more grain to add to the long list of carbs in my life! 🙂

Things that did not go so well: garlic.  I am a huge fan of garlic, but I am not great at cooking it.  This time it most definitely was burnt.  There is such a fine line between it being toasted and browned and burnt, I have a hard time figuring out when it is done.  I think that various dog/cat/tv/twitter distractions, and the fact that my stovetop is slightly unpredictable, might be the problem.  I think I usually end up not cooking it enough, just to be on the safe side, but this time I’m pretty positive the pan was too hot and I definitely cooked it too much.

Aside from a slight taste of burnt garlic, it was pretty good.  I’m still undecided about spinach.  However, this was definitely better than my last try at spinach.  Other than that, I think maybe I will grow into the flavors, if that makes sense.

Ease: B, quite a bit of chopping and prepping, but nothing too horrible.  Just don’t be like me and try to make everything as you go 🙂
Taste: C+, this grade is mostly because of the burnt garlic and partially because I’m just not sure about the flavors.

Would I make it again? Ummm……couscous in general? Yes.  Not sure about this exact recipe.

Have you seen my fancy new header?
I played around with a new layout yesterday, and I made a header! Click on over and check it out!
Thoughts and feedback are much appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

