Zucchini Banana Bread

Ever since Julie posted this recipe on Savvy Eats, I have been wanting to make it.  So tonight I did.  Yes, I dared to turn on my oven in this hot, humid, weather.  And I was drinking hot coffee.  What is wrong with me?

You can find the recipe here.

The bread was not too difficult to make.  Grating the zucchini took a little bit of work, but I actually think that zucchini is one of – if not the – easiest things to grate.  The long form makes for a really great handle.  And, as Julie pointed out, you don’t need to risk your fingers to shred the whole thing.  Just chop up the rest once it gets too small.  🙂

Banana Zucchini Bread

It tasted really good too! The bananas made it a little bit chunky, but that is probably because they weren’t super ripe.  Now I see why people use the super ripe inedible bananas to make bread with.  It was really moist though, and very tasty!  Julie mentioned that when she made it, it tasted to sweet for her and suggested adding less sugar.  I used a little less than the suggested 1/2 cup and it was not too sweet at all.

Banana Zucchini Bread Slices

Way to go Savvy Julie, this was a great recipe!  There are many more on Savvy Eats that I might try as well. Have you ever heard of dessert pesto?  Julie made some!  Pesto kind of scares me, but this dessert version sounds fabulous! Unfortunately I will have to wait until I have a food processor for that one. 😦

Ease: A-, a little grating, but nothing else too terribly hard.
Taste: A, very good.

Will I make it again? Most likely, yes.  Next time with riper bananas. 🙂

Do you have an awesome recipe that you think  I should try?
Do you know of a blog that has lots of great recipes?

I’m especially looking for things I can make and bring for lunch.  Have any ideas?  Let me know!  Leave a comment here , or email me: browniesandzucchini@gmail.com 🙂

4 thoughts on “Zucchini Banana Bread

  1. That looks great, I’m printing recipe now. I bring breakfast and lunch to work everyday and also try to not get bored. Visit my recipes for some simple ideas.

  2. Pingback: Savvy Spottings — Savvy Eats

Leave a Reply

