Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cookies

Since this recipe involves one of my title ingredients, I feel like I should explain the reasoning behind the title of my blog.  I chose the name “Brownies and Zucchini” because those are two of my favorite things to eat.  You will probably be seeing both of these items a lot.  They are also on two sides of the food spectrum  – one in the dessert category and the other a vegetable.  I also chose them to represent the spectrum of recipes that I am hoping to include on this blog.  Although, I will admit that I am much likely to try a recipe in the dessert category than a dinner recipe. And brownies are part of a balanced diet, right? I know Jessica would agree with me 🙂  But, of course, that is the reason why I started this blog.  To find more foods and meals that I enjoy, and diversify my choices.

Alrighy, lets get to the recipe!

The recipe for these Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cookies comes from the Barbara Kingsolver book “Animal Vegetable Miracle.”  (You can find the recipe here.)  As easy as it may seem, this recipe involves more than just adding grated zucchini to normal cookie dough.  That would be too easy.  Besides the zucchini, it also includes a few other things that are not in my normal cookie dough – nutmeg, cinnamon, and honey

Chocolate Chips

Zucchini is one of my favorite foods because it has minimal flavor by itself. Kind of like iceberg lettuce.  So when I add it to things,  I don’t feel like it is going to ruin the flavors.  (This is often why I leave things out of recipes, even though I would guess most of the time it would not matter – or maybe even make the flavors better! I’m trying to work on that.) And I also feel like Zucchini is one of the healthier things that I eat.

shredded zucchini

Overall I think the cookies turned out well. I didn’t omit any ingredients.  In fact, I chose this recipe partially because I already had all of the ingredients so I wouldn’t have to make a special trip to the store!

chocolate chip zucchini cookies

One thing that I was slightly confused by was the last direction.  After you have the batter all mixed together and put spoonfuls on a cookie sheet it says to “flatten with the back of a spoon.”  I tried to do it.  The spoon was sticking to the dough.  I sprayed the spoon and tried again.  Still sticking.  I managed to get a few flattened, but after that I decided it wasn’t worth the hassle. In the photo above, the one on the right is a “flattened” one and the one on the left I left alone.  I don’t see a huge difference.

As far as taste goes, they were pretty good.  Actually, they are kind of growing on me the more that I eat!  I used semi-sweet chocolate chips, since that is what I usually use in chocolate chip cookies and the recipe didn’t specify.  Next time, I think I would try milk chocolate chips.  The semi-sweet are a little too bitter for me, I’m guessing my normal cookie batter has a bunch more sugar than this recipe so that taste is less noticeable.

The zucchini makes for a soft, moist cookie.  As I suspected, you don’t taste the zucchini at all.  I’d like to think that it makes them slightly healthier though 🙂

Ease: A-, only because of the grating of the zucchini.
Taste: B, they were pretty good, just a bit bitter.
Would I make them again? Yeah I think so.  They seem like a good candidate for addition of nuts and dried fruits and things once I am brave enough to try that.

Have you made a recipe that had ingredients that you weren’t sure you would like,
but you ended up loving? For me its anything with Tofu.  I was scared of it, but now I usually prefer it over chicken when we make stir fry at home!

Leave a Reply

