Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

This is where the blogging begins. Tonight I made the decision to try things- even if I think I won’t like them.  It all started with these Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies. I signed up to get emailed recipes from the new Thinkfood cookbook before it comes out.  Each week I get a new “brain fitness” recipe from Posit Science. (the company behind the book) It also turns out that each recipe is from a different food blogger, so that also means I get to find great new food blogs along the way!  Each week I will attempt a new recipe.

Note: I will not be re-posting the recipes word for word, in respect to the authors.  I will post changes that I made and my thoughts about the recipe.  If you want the recipe, just head over to the Thinkfood page and sign up to get the emails.

Here goes nothing.

This week’s recipe is courtesy of Tina over at Carrots N’ Cake.  (coincidentally also one of the first blogs I started reading.)  Her recipes are great….also you should check out her Pug, Murphy. 🙂

Her recipe is for Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I have to say, this is one of the easiest cookie recipes I have ever made.  Even thought it included some out of the ordinary ingredients. Basically you put all of the ingredients in a bowl, mix together, and put on a cookie sheet.  There is no sifting of flour, or even waiting to combine wet and dry ingredients.  Easy.

Banana Oatmeal Choc ChipThey turned out to be soft, bready cookies.  In fact, they tasted much like Banana bread – well, with chocolate chips 🙂  Speaking of chocolate chips, the only things that I changed about the recipe was that I used Semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of Dark chocolate, and I did not add walnuts.

While they were cooking, the smell reminded me of Zucchini bread that I made every summer as a kid. MMmmmm…….

I will admit that the ingredients in this recipe scared me a bit at first.  Flaxseed Meal.  Agave Nectar. Even oatmeal is not a favorite of mine.  I expected that with the oats and flaxseed meal and whole wheat flour they would be very grainy and “health food” tasting.  To my surprise, they tasted more like banana bread than oats.

Ease: A-, only because some of the ingredients are slightly hard to find
Taste: B, being a fan of more traditional chocolatey cookies, these weren’t perfect for me.
Would I make them again? Yes – but probably not for myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

